The National Museum of Bermuda explores the maritime and island history of Bermuda. The maritime museum is located within the grounds of the fortress Keep of the former Royal Naval Dockyard.
Visitors to the museum can stroll the nearby Victualling Yard, where the Royal Navy stored its food and drink supplies, the high walls preventing any theft.
Legend has it that it was here in the Royal Naval Dockyard where British troops brewed ginger beer, meant to combat seasickness. It wasn’t long til they started mixing it with the local Goslings Black Seal Rum – and the Dark ‘n Stormy® cocktail was born.
Fort Scaur offers some of the best panoramic views of Bermuda – take a picnic and your binoculars for an unforgettable excursion. Fort Scaur is also home to the venerable old Weather Stone, touted by islanders as a reliable barometer. A notice board helpfully informs visitors to Fort Scaur that “if ever it is white on top, it is snowing”.
Source: Exploring Scaur Hill Fort & Park
Climb the 185-step spiral staircase of Gibbs’ Hill Lighthouse to enjoy one of the best views on the island. The 117-foot lighthouse was built in 1846 of cast iron – the oldest of its kind in the world, and one of only two cast-iron lighthouses still in existence. It overlooks the South Shore and Little Sound, offering views of both the City of Hamilton and the Royal Naval Dockyard.
Source: Gibbs Hill Lighthouse
Located in the City of Hamilton, this is the site of Goslings’ corporate headquarters, the Goslings Rum prodouction facility, and a retail store. Join Brand Director Andrew Holmes on a tour of our plant, for a behind-the-scenes look at how we produce our award winning Bermuda Rums.
In 1824 James Gosling and his brother Ambrose rented a shop on Front Street in the new capital of Hamilton for £25 a year. The Gosling family maintained a store at this location for 127 years before opening the flagship store at the corner of Front St and Queen St, where it still stands proudly today, painted its signature blue hue.
Get an inside look at one of the best-preserved historic homes on the island. Verdmont Historic House and Gardens was built circa 1710 and remained a private residence until 1951, when it was sold to the Bermuda National Trust; today, the Georgian-style house remains largely unchanged. Now a museum, you can explore the original parlour, drawing rooms and bedrooms, which contain period furniture made from Bermuda cedar. Relics include portraits by former resident John Green, English and Chinese porcelain and a preserved child’s nursery.
See and learn about wild creatures from Bermuda and around the world at the Bermuda Aquarium, Museum and Zoo. Located in linked buildings at Flatts Village on the North Shore, BAMZ houses a range of animals and marine life in naturalistic environments, including a seal sanctuary (yes, it is sponsored by Goslings).
First discovered by teenage boys chasing a wayward cricket ball in 1907, the Crystal Caves, thought to be millions of years old, house dramatic formations and a clear ocean-fed lake. This awe-inspiring subterranean world has inspired everyone from Mark Twain to the creators of Fraggle Rock.
Swizzle Inn and swagger out of Bermuda’s oldest pub, which created the famous Rum Swizzle punch in the 1930’s – a not-too-sweet combination of Goslings Rums, Goslings Falernum (a locally made liqueur old available to purchase in Bermuda), and fruit juices. Join owner Jay Correia for the story behind this iconic restaurant that is loved by visitors and locals alike.
This is where the Goslings’ history in Bermuda begins. In the spring of 1806, London wine and spirits merchant James Gosling set out from England aboard the chartered clipper Mercury with L10,000 of merchandise bound for the Virginias. The voyage was a difficult one. Ninety-one consecutive days of calm left the crew and passengers in dire straits and the charter of the Mercury was fast running out. The ship eventually made port in St. Georges, Bermuda, where Gosling and his family decided to set up shop rather than press on to America. James Gosling opened a shop on the King’s Parade, St. George’s in December 1806.
Dramatic archways and weathered grey stone contrast against vibrant tropical foliage at the Unfinished Church, located in the historic Town of St. George on Bermuda’s East End. The gothic church was conceived as a replacement for St. Peter’s Church, which had been badly damaged by a hurricane. Due to funding problems, parish infighting and yet another damaging storm, construction was never completed. Now the picturesque ruins can be visited at no charge.
Source: Unfinished Church
Located on Paget Island, one of the hundreds of islands making up the Bermuda archipelago, Fort Cunningham dates back to 1612 when the first Governor Richard Moore dictated that a battery be built upon the site to protect the channel leading from the Town of St. George’s to the Atlantic.
Source: Paget Island
Cooper’s Island Nature Reserve is home to a quiet and unspoiled park with extensive walking trails, stunning views of Castle Harbour and access to several beautiful public beaches, including Turtle Bay and the popular Clearwater Beach at Annie’s Bay. The Wildlife Observation Tower at the far end of the peninsula offers spectacular views of the Bermuda coastline – a great place to spot whales and migratory birds.
join the happy seal society
#DareToBeHappy and join the “Happy Seal Society” to receive, promos, news, and exclusive event info and a
FREE AWESOME TOTE bag.
Must be 21 and over to subscribe.